Four FCT Area Council Elections Inconclusive – INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared four Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Council elections held last Saturday inconclusive after declaring the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) chairmanship candidate for Bwari Area Council the winner of the council poll.

The commission cited irregularies for the action.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Sunday Ododo explained that the developmeny was because the total number of cancelled votes cast, 15,560, was more than the margin between the two leading political parties.

While announcing the decision of INEC in Gwagwalada Area Council, Mr. Adamu Tanimu stated that the election was inconclusive due to the cancellation of votes in two polling units in Ibwa Ward.

There would be re-run between All Progressive Congress, APC and the All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA
Members of APGA have however rejected INEC’s pronouncement stating that their candidate, Alhaji Mustapha Adamu Denze had the highest votes and should be declared winner.

ALSO READ  Seek Alternative Means to Strikes, Okowa Tells Resident Doctors

In Kuje area council, the election was also declared inconclusive. The returning officer in Kuje Area Council, Mr. Nicolas Kalu said over 11000 votes in the council were affected due to cancellation while elections did not hold in 12 polling units in the council. As a result, the voting margin between the two leading political parties; APC and Peoples Democratic Party PDP was not enough to declare the winner.

In addition, the elections in Abaji area council was also declared inconclusive after the returning officer from INEC, Dr. Sani Zakar stated that the total number of ballot papers cancelled exceeded the margin between the APC and the PDP as election results were snatched by unidentified hoodlums while incidents of double voting were also recorded in some wards.
Also, the election in Abuja Municipal Area Council, AMAC was declared inconclusive while INEC has announced that there would be election re-run in the following polling units; Karu, Karshi and Gui.

ALSO READ  Frequencie Celebrates 60th Independence Anniversary At ShopNig

Meanwhile, in Bwari Area Council, All Progressive Congress, APC candidate, Hon. Musa Dikko was declared winner after leading with 18, 066 votes.

Dikko who polled 18,066 votes defeated his closest rival, Mr. Andrew Gwani of the People’s Democratic Party who recorded 13,279 votes. is your BREAKING NEWS platform.

Do you have Breaking news or Opinion article for us?
Call: 0817 504 7979
Or Email Us:
Follow Us on Twitter @streetreporters
Join Our Fans on Facebook:
Visit Our Website:

ALSO READ  Teachers Day: Obaseki Speaks on Edo Teachers' Resilience, Commitment
The Street Reporters Newspaper is your BREAKING NEWS platform. Do you have Breaking news or Opinion article for us? | *Call: +234 817 504 7979 | Or Email Us: | Follow Us on Twitter | Join Our Fans on Facebook: | Follow us on Instagram | Advertise With Us: +2348035823617 | Visit Our Website:

Share and Enjoy !

What's your thought about this story? Write your comment here

%d bloggers like this: