The Street Reporters Newspaper

…Breaking News with Integrity!


University of Nigeria Nsukka, UNN Gate
Education News Politics

UNN’s SUG Senators, Reps Members Elect Principal Officers

Spread the love

The leadership of the National Assembly of the University of Nigeria, Naukka, (UNN), comprising the Senate and House of Representatives of the university’s Student Union Government (SUG), yesterday, elected principal officers into the two top offices of the red and green Chambers of the Assembly for 2022/2023 academic session.

The process was described as free, fair and hitch-free as was organized by the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Electoral Commission (UNECO), headed by the Dean, Student Affairs, Prof. Edwin Ogechukwu Omeje.

Prof. Omeje said that the office of the Senate President is now decisively being zoned to the University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus (UNEC) while that of the Deputy Senate President is now for the University of Nigeria, Naukka (UNN).

ALSO READ  ALGON Hails Supreme Court Autonomy Judgment, Resolves to Strengthen Local Governance

The number of Senators who participated in the election were 48 to include, 20 Senators from UNEC while 28 Senators were from UNN.

Those who contested for the office of the Senate President were Senator Benjamin Emeka Agbo, Senator Emmanuel Daniel Chisom, Senator Benjamin Godman and Senator Friday Nathaniel Onah.

After the election, the following results were obtained, Senator Benjamin Emeka Agbo-23 votes, Senator Emmanuel Daniel Chisom-14 votes, Senator Friday Nathaniel Onah-7 and Senator Benjamin Godman-3 votes. The Dean, who doubled as the Chairman of the UNECO said based on the scores, “I declare Agbo, Benjamin Emeka as duelly elected Senate President for the 2022/2023 academic session.

ALSO READ  Labour Party Dissolves in Isoko North, Boosts PDP Ahead of Delta LG Polls

The Deputy Senate President position was contested by two Senators 1) Senator Akanimoh Akanimoh Sunday 2) Senator Ezea, Caleb Kenechukwu. After the election, the results were obtained as follows 1) Senator Akanimoh Akanimoh Sunday-37 votes, 2) Ezea, Caleb Kenechukwu-9 votes.

The Dean, as well as the Chairman of the UNECO said: “I, Prof. Edwin Omeje hereby declare Senator Akanimoh Akanimoh Sunday as duelly elected Deputy Senate President for the 2022/2023 academic session.

In the same token, the position of the Speaker was contested by three Honourable members such as 1) Hon. Okeke, Charles Chibuike 2) Hon. Josiah Prince Tochukwu 3) Hon. Charles ThankGod Ekenedilichukwu. The results were obtained as follows: 1) Hon. Okeke, Charles Chibuike-72 votes,
2) Hon. Charles ThankGod-11 votes and 3) Hon. Josiah Prince Tochukwu-11 votes. On that note, Prof. Omeje upheld Hon. Okeke, Charles Chibuike as duelly elected Speaker, House of Representatives for the 2022/2023 academic session.

ALSO READ  Tinubu Commends Tolaram Group for Confidence in Nigeria’s Economy

Meanwhile, the position of the Deputy Speaker went to Hon. Okeke, Mary Chidinma having polled 88 votes out of the 94 votes cast, although she was unopposed in the contest.

The Dean, therefore, told them that they would be inaugurated during their first meeting.

ThebVice-Chancellor, Prof. Charles Arizechukwu Igwe reminded all the elected SUG officials that they are primarily students and that he didn’t expect their involvement in student unionism to undermine their academic performance.

Discover more from The Street Reporters Newspaper

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading