Ondo 2020: How Akeredolu was Re-elected As Governor

The incumbent Governor of Ondo State and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Mr Rotimi Akeredolu has been re-elected.

The former President of the Nigerian Bar Association won in 15 of the 18 Local Government Areas of the state.

The candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 292,830 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 195,791 votes, while Mr Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party came a distance third in the election with 69,127 votes.

ALSO READ  #ENDSARS Protests: Consequence of Leadership Failure - Okowa

“Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected,” said the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, who was the Chief Returning Officer for the governorship election, Professor Olayinka said.

Residents of the state came out on Saturday, across the 3,009 polling units of 203 electoral wards/ registration areas in the 18 Local Government Areas (LGA) of the state, to choose their leader for the next four years.

ALSO READ  Frequencie Celebrates 60th Independence Anniversary At ShopNig


The Street Reporters Newspaper is your BREAKING NEWS platform. Do you have Breaking news or Opinion article for us? | *Call: +234 817 504 7979 | Or Email Us: news@streetreporters.ng | Follow Us on Twitter https://twitter.com/streetreporters | Join Our Fans on Facebook: https://facebook.com/streetreporters.ng | Follow us on Instagram https://intagram.com/streetreporters | Advertise With Us: +2348035823617 | Visit Our Website: www.StreetReporters.ng

Share and Enjoy !

What's your thought about this story? Write your comment here

%d bloggers like this: