The Street Reporters Newspaper

…Breaking News with Integrity!


Elections News Politics

FCT Area Council Polls Update: PDP Wins AMAC, Kuje, Bwari as APC Wins Gwagwalada, Kwali

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Christopher Zaka, on Sunday emerged as the winner of the chairmanship election for Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC) after getting 19,302 votes.

He was declared the winner of the chairmanship post for the council election after beating the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Murtala Usman – who polled 13,240 votes – and 12 other candidates.

Total votes cast for the AMAC elections were 33,764.

Similarly, the PDP candidate in the Kuje Area Council chairmanship election in the Federal Capital Territory, Suleman Sabo, swept to victory in the poll.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, through Returning Officer, Sule Mahaji, announced the result on Sunday morning.

ALSO READ  Appeal Court Affirms Mbah’s Victory, Dismisses Enugu LP Candidate’s Suit

He said Sabo polled a total of 13,301 votes while his closest rival, Sarki Hamidu, of the All Progressives Congress, polled 7,694 votes.

With a total margin of 5,607 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sabo will now serve a second term in office as chairman of Kuje Council Area.

Below are the official results released by INEC:

Kuje Central (ward 01)

APC – 1717

PDP – 3671

Chibiri (ward 02)

APC- 1,172


Gaube (ward 03)

APC – 1793

PDP – 2,226

Kwaku (ward 04)

APC – 562

PDP – 1450

Kabi (ward 05)

APC – 271

PDP – 433

Rubochi (ward 06)

APC – 1047

PDP – 1506

Gwargwada (ward 07)

ALSO READ  Kwara Govt Announces Date for State's Sanitation Exercise, Restricting Vehicular Or Human Movement

APC – 365

PDP – 583

Gudrun Karya (ward 08)

APC – 420

PDP – 1032

Kujekwa (ward 09)

APC – 76

PDP – 106

Yenche ( ward 10)

APC – 271

PDP – 455

But in Gwagwalada Area Council election as shown by the results, the APC defeated the PDP.

Jibrin Abubakar of APC – 11,125;

Mohammed Kasim of PDP – 9,597

Returning Officer – Prof. Illiyasu Umar


Shekwogaza Gabaya, candidate of the PDP, defeated Audi Shekwolo of the APC in Bwari chairmanship election.

Gabaya, who has been re-elected for a second term, polled 13,045 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Shekwolo who garnered 7,697 votes.

ALSO READ  Lithium Tops Talks Between Dowden, Alake in London

Amuche Madu, INEC returning/collation officer for Bwari area council, announced the results on Sunday morning.

“Shekwogaza Gabaya of PDP, having certified the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” Madu said.


Danladi Chiya, candidate of the APC, has been declared winner of the FCT chairmanship election in Kwali.

Chiya defeated Haruna Pai of the PDP.

Wesley Daniel, the returning officer in Kwali, declared Chiya winner of the poll on Sunday after the collation of results was completed.

Chiya, who is the incumbent council chairman, got 7,646 votes to defeat Pai who polled 7,345 votes.


You cannot copy content of this page