The Street Reporters Newspaper

…Breaking News with Integrity!


Speaker of Lagos State House Of Assembly, Rt Hon Mudashiru Obasa
Across States Appointments Breaking News News Politics

Rejected Nominees: Lagos Lawmakers Begin Screening of List As Sanwo-Olu Sends New Names

Spread the love

This post has already been read 649 times!

The Lagos State House of Assembly will on Tuesday commence the screening of a second batch of nominees sent to by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, urged the screening committee led by Hon. Fatai Mojeed to ensure a thorough screening process and report to the House on Thursday.

Prior to the Speaker’s comment, the Clerk of the House, Barrister Olalekan Onafeko, read a letter from the governor listing the names presented.

In the letter, Governor Sanwo-Olu said some of the names were represented while new names were added.

ALSO READ  Obi Cheers on Chef Grace as She Breaks Guinness World Record for Longest Home Kitchen Cooking Marathon

Titled: ‘Fowarding of Official List of Nominees for Appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers’, the letter thanked the Speaker and members of the House for their diligence and commitment in relation to the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees.

“Your rigorous accessment of these nominees in adherence to your constitutional obligations demonstrates your dedication to ensuring a competent and effective council,” Sanwo-Olu said.

The governor said after careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, “I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.

ALSO READ  Kogi State Embarks on Extensive Road Rehabilitation Initiative in 8 LGAs

“This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state,” he added in the letter.

The governor said he is confident that the new nominees would bring fresh ideas that would help the growth and progress of Lagos.

He urged the House to screen the nominees for clearance.


  1. Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen
  2. Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi
  3. Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi
  4. Engr. Olalere Odusote
  5. Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola
  6. Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem
  7. Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe
  8. Mr. Samuel Egube
  9. Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu
  10. Mrs. Bolaji Cecelia Dada
  11. Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare
  12. Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso
  13. Mr. Mosopefolu George
  14. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje
  15. Dr. Olumide Oluyinka
  16. Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi
  17. Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola
  18. Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa
ALSO READ  Breaking News: Leadership Change at the Police Service Commission

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly has resolved to review the performance of the 2023 budget in preparation for the presentation of the 2024 budget eatimate by Governor Sanwo-Olu.

Recall that the House had approved N1.768 trillion for the Year 2023.

Speaker Obasa urged the Committee for the budget review, headed by Hon. Sa’ad Olumo to ensure a proper review and make its report available to the House.

Comrade James Ezema is a veteran journalist and media consultant. He is a political strategist. He can be reached on +2348035823617 via call or WhatsApp.

Discover more from The Street Reporters Newspaper

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading